The Isaac Newton Group of Telescopes
ING Banner
Home > Public Information > ING Newsletter > No. 9, March 2005 > The Isaac Newton Group of Telescopes

ING Newsletter No. 9, March 2005

Previous: Message from the Director | Up: Table of Contents | Next: The ING Board and the ING Director's Advisory Group
Reference: ING Newsl., No. 9, page 2.
Article mirrored at: La Palma server | Cambridge server
Other available formats: PDF

The Isaac Newton Group of Telescopes

The Isaac Newton Group of Telescopes (ING) consists of the 4.2m William Herschel Telescope (WHT), the 2.5m Isaac Newton Telescope (INT) and the 1.0m Jacobus Kapteyn Telescope (JKT), and is located 2350m above sea level at the Roque de Los Muchachos Observatory on the island of La Palma, Canary Islands, Spain. The WHT is the largest telescope of its kind in Western Europe.

The construction of the ING telescopes was the result of a collaboration between the United Kingdom and the Netherlands. The site is provided by Spain, and in return Spanish astronomers receive 20 per cent of the observing time on the telescopes. The operation of the site is overseen by an International Scientific Committee, or Comité Científico Internacional (CCI).

A further 75 per cent of the observing time is shared by the United Kingdom, the Netherlands and the Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (IAC). The remaining 5 per cent is reserved for large scientific projects to promote international collaboration between institutions of the CCI member countries.

The ING operates the telescopes on behalf of the Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council (PPARC) of the United Kingdom, the Nederlandse Organisatie voor Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek (NWO) of the Netherlands and the IAC in Spain. The Roque de Los Muchachos Observatory, which is the principal European Northern hemisphere observatory, is operated by the IAC.

PPARC logo
NWO logo
IAC logo

Top | Back

Contact:  (Public Relations Officer)
Last modified: 01 January 1970