Who we are
ING Banner
Home > Public Information > Virtual Tour of the ING > Who we are

Who We Are

The Isaac Newton Group of Telescopes (ING) consists of the 4.2m William Herschel Telescope (WHT), the 2.5m Isaac Newton Telescope (INT) and the 1.0m Jacobus Kapteyn Telescope (JKT). The ING is located 2,350m above sea level at the Roque de Los Muchachos Observatory (ORM) on the island of La Palma, Canary Islands, Spain. The WHT is the largest telescope of its kind in Western Europe.

The construction, operation, and development of the ING telescopes is the result of a collaboration between the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Ireland and Spain.

The ING operates, maintains and developes the telescopes on behalf of the Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC) of the United Kingdom, the Nederlandse Organisatie voor Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek (NWO) of the Netherlands and the Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (IAC) of Spain. The Roque de Los Muchachos Observatory, which is the principal European northern hemisphere observatory, is operated on behalf of Spain by the Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (IAC).

The site is provided by Spain, and in return Spanish astronomers receive 20 per cent of the observing time on the telescopes. The operation of the site is overseen by an International Scientific Committee, or Comité Científico Internacional (CCI).

A further 75 per cent of the observing time is shared by the United Kingdom, the Netherlands and Spain (extra observing time). The remaining 5 per cent is reserved for large scientific projects to promote international collaboration between institutions of the CCI member countries.

Top | Back

Contact:  (Public Relations Officer)
Last modified: 13 December 2010