ING Banner
Home > Public Information > Public Releases > The ING's Telescopes Contribute Towards the 2007 Gruber Cosmology Prize

The ING's Telescopes Contribute Towards the 2007 Gruber Cosmology Prize

ING web news release
24th August, 2007

Next September 7th, during a public ceremony to be held in Cambridge (UK), the Gruber Cosmology Prize will be awarded jointly to Saul Perlmutter of the Department of Energy's Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and the University of California at Berkeley, Brian Schmidt of the Australian National University, and members of the two international teams that these researchers led: the Supernova Cosmology Project and the High-Z Supernova Search Team, for their discovery that the expansion of the Universe is currently accelerating.

As the Peter and Patricia Gruber Foundation recognizes... "these observations required the development of new techniques that use supernovae exploding within distant galaxies to measure precise distances across a large fraction of the observable Universe. The discovery of the accelerated expansion has radically changed our perception of cosmic evolution."

This outstanding result was achieved using the most powerful telescopes in the world, and in particular, the members of the Supernova Cosmology Project (SCP) team have been using the telescopes of the Isaac Newton Group since the early nineties extensively. A special mention goes to Pilar Ruiz-Lapuente (University of Barcelona) and Nic Walton (formerly support astronomer at the Isaac Newton Group of Telescopes), who have been responsible for most of the data obtained with the ING telescopes. More recently Javier Méndez (ING) joined the SCP team.

One of the type Ia supernovae observed with the ING telescopes for the Supernova Cosmology Project. This image was obtained using the Wide Field Camera on the Isaac Newton Telescope in 1998. Credit: Javier Méndez (ING and University of Barcelona), Pilar Ruiz-Lapuente (University of Barcelona) and Nic Walton (ING) [ JPEG ].

The Supernova Cosmology Project's "Measurements of Omega and Lambda from 42 high-redshift supernovae" paper appeared in the Astrophysical Journal in 1999. The authors and their then-affiliations were Saul Perlmutter, Greg Aldering, Gerson Goldhaber, Robert Knopf, Peter Nugent, Patricia Castro, Susana Deustua, Sebastien Fabbro, Ariel Goobar, Donald Groom, Isobel Hook, Alex Kim, Matthew Kim, Julia Lee, Nelson Nunes, Reynald Pain, Carl Pennypacker, and Robert Quimby of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory; Chris Lidman of the European Southern Observatory; Richard Ellis, Mike Irwin, and Richard McMahon of Cambridge University; M. Pilar Ruiz-Lapuente of the University of Barcelona; Nicholas Walton of the Isaac Newton Group, La Palma; Brad Schaefer of Yale University; Brian Boyle of the Anglo-Australian Observatory, Sydney; Alexei Filippenko and Thomas Matheson of the University of California at Berkeley; Andrew Fruchter and Nino Panagia of the Space Telescope Science Institute in Baltimore; Heidi Newberg of Fermi National Laboratory; and Warrick Couch of the University of New South Wales.

More information:

Top | Back

Contact:  (Public Relations Officer)
Last modified: 22 December 2010