The Southern Crab
EuroConference on
Supported by the European Commission, High-Level Scientific Conferences.

27-31 May 2002
La Palma, Canary Islands, Spain
The Southern Crab

Registration form
Financial support
Important dates
Abstract submission

Scientific programme
Poster presentations

About ING
About La Palma
La Palma weather
Travel to La Palma
Image credits

Nebulae around symbiotic stars
Last updated: June 27, 2002  
Aim of the conference: 

Half or maybe two thirds of the stars in the Universe are binaries. Among them, symbiotic stars are recognized to be important objects not only to understand better stellar evolution in binary stars, but also to discuss phenomena that are relevant to a number of other astrophysical fields.
As 5 years have passed since the last international workshop dedicated to the subject, this conference is aimed at reviewing the state-of-the-art in the field of symbiotic stars, as well to emphasize, for the first time in a comprehensive way, the links to other branches of astrophysics, such as red giants, planetary nebulae, novae, supersoft X-ray sources and supernovae.
To achieve these goals, invited review talks given by leading scientists in all the fields above are planned, as well as a number of contributed talks and posters presenting the recent results on the relevant fields.
The conference will cover the following topics:

  • Recent progresses in the determination of orbital and stellar parameters of symbiotic stars and related binary systems
  • Evolutionary paths leading to symbiotic stars and to their progeny
  • The red giants of symbiotic stars compared to single red giants and Miras
  • The nature of the hot component and the physics of their outbursts
  • New observations of the circumstellar material and its origin (winds interactions and photoionisation)
  • Modelling large-scale outflows from symbiotic stars and their links with planetary nebulae
  • The relation with classical novae, cataclysmic variables, supersoft X-ray sources, and SN Ia
  • Future surveys and science perspectives

Training sessions especially dedicated to young researchers are also planned, in the form of short workshops leaded by senior astronomers and aimed at discussing in depth specific topics of the conference. Young researchers will also be encouraged to present their work in the form of talks or posters.

The list of invited speakers is:

B. Balick (USA) M.F. Bode (UK) R.L.M. Corradi (UK) I. Hachisu (Japan)
I. Iben (USA) A. Jorissen (Belgium) M. Livio (USA) J. Mikolajewska (Poland)
U. Munari (Italy) H. Nussbaumer (Switzerland) H.M. Schmid (Switzerland) H.E. Schwarz (Chile)
E.M. Sion (USA) N. Soker (Israel) J. Sokoloski (USA) T. Tomov (Poland)
P.A. Whitelock (South Africa)      

The conference is organised by the Isaac Newton Group of Telescopes(ING), La Palma, Canary Spain, with the collaboration of the Instituto de Astrofisica de Canarias, Tenerife, Spain.
See the overview of ING and the observatory, strategic issues for ING, or our Public Information for more information on ING, your host for this conference. 

A Scientific Organising Committe (SOC) and a Local Organising Committe (LOC) have been composed. Information about the venue of the conference and accomodation will be provided later during 2001. Both oral and poster contributions will be published in a Proceedings book.

Registration has formally closed, but we can still accept a few late registrations. Just fill the included Registration form, and we will soon contact you. Note that the total number of participants will be limited to 120, and early registrations will have the precedence over the latest ones.

The registration fee has been fixed to 150 Euros, and will be paid by participants upon arrival at the conference. Only cash (no credit card) is accepted.

The final list of participants, invited speakers, contributed talks, and posters, will be announced on April.

Financial support: 
Financial support is provided by the European Commission. High-Level Scientific Conferences. Additional support is provided by the ING, the IAC, the Exmo. Cabildo Insular de La Palma (local government) and by the Patronato de Turismo de La Palma (tourist board). Please read the financial support section for more details.
Romano Corradi & Joanna Mikolajewska (Co-chairs, SOC)

Last Updated: Jun 27, 2002
Saskia Prins