



The Isaac Newton Group of Telescopes (ING). The Isaac Newton Group of Telescopes (ING) consists of the 4.2 metre William Herschel Telescope, the 2.5 metre Isaac Newton Telescope and the 1.0 metre Jacobus Kapteyn Telescope. The ING is owned by the Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC) of the United Kingdom, and is operated jointly with the Nederlandse Organisatie voor Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek (NWO) of the Netherlands and the Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (IAC) of Spain. The telescopes are located in the Spanish Observatorio del Roque de los Muchachos on La Palma, Canary Islands, which is operated by the Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias (IAC). Photo credit: Max Alexander.

