Appendix C

Staff Organisation

uring 1999 the staffing position at ING continued to be relatively stable, as reflected in the previous Annual Report. In fact the period saw an increase in UK staff on-island as tasks previously carried out at the RGO were transferred to La Palma. Some of these tasks were temporary, such as staff effort for specific enhancements projects, whilst others, such as the scheduling of telescope time, will be permanent additions. The 38.9 direct staff year funded for the financial year 1999/00 can therefore be considered as a temporary situation which will not be maintained into future years.

The level of UK based staff effort remained level at 7.4 direct staff during the year, although again, this is scheduled to decrease in the next financial year. The total approved staff effort for the Netherlands remained at 6.9 on-island and 1.0 in Cambridge.

For 1999, the telescope managers were: for the WHT, Dr C R Benn; for the INT, Dr N A Walton; for the JKT, Dr J H

The list of staff in post on La Palma during 1999 is as set out below.

MANAGEMENT

R G M Rutten, Director R L Miles, Personal Secretary

ADMINISTRATION

M Acosta

E C Barreto

L I Edwins, Head of Administration

A Felipe (to 16/6/99)

I García

N L González (from 2/7/99)

S S Hunter

M Lorenzo

J Martínez

H J Watt

ASTRONOMY

M Azzaro

C R Benn

M Broxterman

R Corradi (from 1/11/99)

J N González

R Greimel (from 8/7/99)

D J Lennon, Head of Astronomy

C Martín

J Méndez

N O'Mahony (to 24/4/99)

C Packham

D L Pollacco (to 31/12/99)

J C Rey

V Reyes (from 24/4/99)

S Sánchez (from 16/5/99)

W J I Skillen (from 1/8/99)

S J Smartt (to 16/6/99)

P Sorensen

J H Telting

N A Walton

Support astronomers from the University of Porto:

Antonio Pedrosa (to 2/2/99)

Daniel Folha (to 30/11/99)

Students from University of Hertfordshire:

J Abbott (to 9/99)

A Humphrey (to 9/99)

D Batcheldor (from 9/99)

R Curran (from 9/99)

ENGINEERING

R G Talbot, Head of Engineering

Engineering Groups:

Computing Facilities

D-C Abrams

L Hernández

N R Johnson

G F Mitchell

P G Symonds

P v d Velde

Control Software

D Armstrong

R Bassom (from 13/3/99)

M Bec

C Bevil (from 1/3/99)

R Clark (from 27/4/99)

S M Crosby

M P Fisher (to 31/3/99)

F Gribbin

S G Rees

Electronics

C Benneker

T Gregory

A Guillén

C W M Jackman

K Kolle

S Magee (from 21/3/99)

R Martínez

E J Mills

P C Moore

R J Pit

A Ridings

S J Tulloch (from 1/5/99)

G Woodhouse

Mechanics

F Concepción

K M Dee

K Froggatt

P Jolley

P S Morrall

S Rodríguez

J C Pérez

M v d Hoeven

B v Venrooy

E Villani (to 15/2/99)

Site Services

C Alvarez

P Alvarez (from 15/2/99)

A K Chopping

J R Concepción

J M Díaz

D Gray

M V Hernández

C Ramón

M Simpson