ING Banner
Home > Astronomy > Staff, Students, Visitors > Former Research Staff, Students and Visitors


Former Research Staff

Staff

Staff Username
@ing.iac.es
Post Publications Research interests Left
James McCormacjmccObserving Support AssistantADSTransiting extrasolar planets.Jul 2014
Samantha RixsrixObserving Support ScientistADSHigh redshift star-forming galaxies, quasar absorption line systems.Jan 2014
Andrew Cardwell cardwell Observing Support Assistant ADS Feb 2012
Juan Carlos Guerra jcg Observing Support Assistant ADS Apr 2011
Miguel Santander García msantander Observing Support Scientist   Dec 2010
Pablo Rodríguez Gil prguez Observing Support Scientist   1) Double degenerates and low-mass X-ray binaries. Ultra-compact binaries; 2) Magnetic accretion in binaries; 3) Low states of CVs; 4) Central stars of planetary nebulae: search for binarity. Nov 2010
Daniel Bramich dmb Observing Support Scientist   Sep 2009
Romano Corradi rcorradi Senior Support Astronomer   Oct 2008
Javier Licandro licandro Observing Support Scientist   Dec 2007
Danny Lennon djl Head of Astronomy   Nov 2007
Michael Schirmer mischa Observing Support Scientist   Oct 2007
Pierre Leisy pleisy Support Astronomer   Aug 2007
Robert Greimel greimel Data Flow Scientist   Dec 2006
Roy Østensen roy Support Astronomer   Apr 2006
Chris Evans cre Research Postdoc   Sep 2005
Marco Azzaro azzaro Telescope Operator   Jan 2004
Almudena Zurita azurita Support astronomer   Jan 2004
Sebastian Els sels Marie Curie Fellow   2003
Francisco Prada fprada Support Astronomer   Aug 2003
Ilona Söchting ilona Marie Curie Fellow   Dec 2003
Peter Sørensen pms Telescope operator   Oct 2003
Saskia Telting-Prins saskia Astronomical Software Development   Oct 2003

 

Students

Name Username
@ing.iac.es
Home institution ING supervisor Research interests Left
2016-2017
Francisco GalindofgalindoCAB, SpainAstrostatistics; open clusters; stellar ages; brown dwarfs and low-mass stars.Sep 2017
Bartosz GauzabgauzaIAC, SpainSearches and characterization of very low-mass stars and substellar objects (brown dwarfs and planetary mass objects), especially as companions to stars.Feb 2017
Taoran Litaoran National Astronomical Observatories, Chinese Academy of Sciences (NAOC), Beijing, ChinaOvidiu VaduvescuStray light in telescopes and mirror seeing researchMar 2017
David ModianodmodianoUniversity of Sheffield, UKAGN jets, exoplanets, and star formation.Sep 2017
Philip ShortpshortUniversity of Sheffield, UKSome experience in active galactic nuclei: projects both looking at the effects of AGN on galaxy evolution (gas outflows and emission mechanisms), and also studying the physics of AGN jets.Sep 2017
2015-2016
Richard AshleyrashleyUniversity of Warwick, UKOvidiu VaduvescuWhite dwarfs and compact binary objectsDec 2016
Nicholas HumphriesnikSheffield University, UKChris BennEvolution of light pollution on La PalmaSep 2016
Luis PeraltaperaltaInstituto de Astrofísica de Canarias, SpainMarc BalcellsGrowth of massive galaxies through cosmic time.Nov 2016
Paulina SowickapaulinaNicolas Copernicus Astronomical Center, Warshaw, PolandCecilia FariñaThe Zoo of variable central stars of planetary nebulaeSep 2016
Martha TabormarthaNottingham University, UKLilian DomínguezSpectroscopic bulge-disk decompositions of MaNGASep 2016
2014-2015
Charlotte CarlislecharlotteSheffield University, UKMarc BalcellsMassive galaxies at intermediate redshiftsSep 2015
Manuel Díaz AlfaromanuelIAC, SpainLilian DomínguezHelioseismology, asteroseismology.Sep 2015
Ronny ErrmannronnyUniversity of Jena, GermanyOvidiu VaduvescuExoplanets, young stars, integrated optics and vortex coronagraphyDec 2015
Fátima LópezfatimaUniversidad Complutense de Madrid, SpainCecilia FariñaStar-forming regions, young stellar objects and T Tauri starsDec 2015
Iñaki OrdóñezinakiUniversidad del País Vasco, SpainJavier MéndezSolar-System planets and planetary cartography.Sep 2015
Fanny StevancefannyUniversity of Sheffield, UKOvidiu VaduvescuStars, near Earth asteroids photometry and light-curves.Aug 2015
2013-2014
Teo Mocnik teo University of Manchester, UK Marie Hrudkova PNe, exoplanets. MSc thesis: 'The Unusual Central Star of the Planetary Nebula Sh2-71'.
Saeed Doostmohammadi Saeed Iranian National Observatory Ovidiu Vaduvescu Ph.D. Student. Spectrum of Active Galactic Nuclei as the sources of Ultra-High energy cosmic rays
Nicola Pietro Gentile Fusillo nicola University of Warwick, UK Ian Skillen PhD student, thesis: "Stellar and planetary remnants in large area surveys" Sep 2014
Nick Hammar nick University of Victoria, Canada Emilie L'Homé Astronomy optics Aug 2014
Hristo Stoev hristo Centro de Astrobiología, Spain Ovidiu Vaduvescu Stellar variability in the near-infrared. Classification of variable stars. Oct 2014
Vlad Tudor vlad Leicester University, UK Ovidiu Vaduvescu Dwarf fundamental plane extension to other galaxies. INT seeing investigation. Sep 2014
2012-2013
Doug Arnold darnold Liverpool John Moores University's Astrophysics Research Institute (ARI), UK Lilian Domínguez 1st year PhD student, thesis: "RINGO3: A multi-wavelength Polarimeter for Time Domain Astrophysics" Sep 2013
Ariadna González Fernández ariadnag University of La Laguna, Spain Cecilia Fariña MSc student, thesis: "Search and Characterization of Thörne-Zytkow Objects"Nov 2013
Yudish Ramanjooloo yudish Mullard Space Science Laboratory (MSSL), University College London (UCL), UK Raine Karjalainen 3rd year Ph.D. student, thesis: "The structure of the inner heliosphere as revealed by comets"
Pieter van Oers pietero University of Southampton, UK Chris Benn 3rd year Ph.D. student, thesis: "Evolution of Active Galactic Nuclei by studying their local counterparts (stellar-mass black holes in our Galaxy) and assuming the physics scales" Sep 2013
2011-2012
Dora Föhring df Durham University, UK Ian Skillen Extrasolar planets, fast photometry, atmospheric turbulence simulations and atmospheric profiling. Sep 2012
Liam Hardy lh University of Sheffield, UK Chris Benn [undergraduate] Oct 2012
Hugo Ledo hl University of Hertfordshire, UK Ovidiu Vaduvescu Assembling history of early-type galaxies. Sep 2012
Lee Patrick leep University of Sheffield, UK Lilian Domínguez Nuclear Star Clusters Oct 2012
Mansour Karami mansour Sharif Univ. of Technology, Iran Chris Benn Cosmic structure formation, modified gravity and dark energy, gravitational lensing Apr 2012
Hassan Fathivavsari hassan Tabriz Univ., Iran Chris Benn Quasar absorption-line systems Apr 2012
2010-2011
Amy Tyndall atyndall Univ. of Manchester, UK Romano Corradi (IAC) Planetary Nebulae morphology and their binary central stars. Sep 2011
Lindsay Magill lmagill Queen's Univ. Belfast, UK Chris Benn Core-collapse supernovae. Sep 2011
Ilona Busenbender ibusenbender IAC, Spain Andrew Cardwell Outskirts of Galaxies. Sep 2011
Annemieke Janssen ajanssen Rijks Universiteit Groningen, The Netherlands Neil O'Mahony, Chris Benn Astronomical instrumentation Aug 2011
Shant Baghram shant Sharif Univ. of Technology, Iran Chris Benn Dark energy and modified gravity Apr 2011
2009-2010
James McCormac jmcc Queen's Univ. Belfast, UK. Ian Skillen. Transiting extrasolar planets.
Eleanor Dyke edyke Univ. of Hertfordshire, UK. Sam Rix and Ovidiu Vaduvescu. Lyman-Alpha emitters and Lyman-Alpha blobs.
Daniel Hurley dhurley Univ. College Cork, Ireland Pablo Rodríguez Low mass X-ray binaries
Florencia Jiménez Luján fjimenez Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain Chris Benn
Evelyn Johnston ejohnston The Univ. of Sheffield, UK Pablo Rodríguez Cataclysmic Variable Stars
2008-2009
Florencia Jiménez Luján fjimenez Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain Chris Benn
David Jones djones Univ. of Manchester, UK Samantha Rix and Miguel Santander
María del Mar Rubio Díez mrubio Universidad de La Laguna, Spain Miguel Santander
Stylianos Pyrzas spyrzas Univ. of Warwick, UK Pablo Rodríguez
2007-2008
Sarah Barker sbarker Univ. of Sheffield, UK Chris Benn
Marica Valentini mvalentini Astronomical Observatory of Padova, Univ. of Padova, Italy Romano Corradi
Tiina Liimets tiina Tartu Observatory, Estonia Romano Corradi
2006-2007
Marie Hrudkova marie Charles Univ., Czech Rep. Ian Skillen/Chris Benn
Ian Hunter ihunter Queen's Univ. Belfast, UK Danny Lennon
Miguel Santander-García msantander Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias, Spain Romano Corradi
2005-2006
Paul Behrens Univ. of Sheffield, UK Chris Benn
José Antonio Caballero Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias
Andrew Cardwell Open University, UK
Samantha Hickey Univ. of Hertfordshire, UK Ian Skillen
Richard Parker Univ. of Sheffield, UK Carry Trundle/Danny Lennon
Laurence Sabin Univ. of Manchester, UK Romano Corradi
2004-2005
Mansura Jaigirdar Univ. of Hertfordshire, UK
James Furness Univ. of Sheffield, UK
Sergio Simón Díaz Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias, Spain
2003-2004
Carrie Trundle Queen's Univ. Belfast, UK
Antonio García Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias, Spain
Dimitris Mislis Univ. of Thessalonika, Greece
David Russell Univ. of Hertfordshire, UK Chris Benn
Neville Styles Univ. of Hertfordshire, UK
2002-2003
Chris Bee Univ. of Hertfordshire, UK
Colin Davenport Univ. of Sheffield, UK
Jo Goodger Queen Mary College, London, UK
Mikel Lamensans
Carrie Trundle Queen's Univ. Belfast, UK
2001-2002
Stuart Folkes
Antonio García
Hannah Worters
Shelley Wright University of California, Santa Cruz, USA
2000-2001
Daniel Bramich Cambridge University
C. Crowley Trinity College Dublin
Stuart Folkes Hertfordshire University
Richard Hijmering Nijmegen University
Joanna Holt Sheffield University
A. Tayal Hertfordshire University
Carrie Trudle QUB
Hannah Worters Sheffield University
1999-2000
Jay Abbot Hertfordshire University
D. Batcheldor Hertfordshire University
Rachel Curran Hertfordshire UniversityChris Benn
Andrew Humphrey Hertfordshire University
1998-1999
Jay Abbot Hertfordshire University
Andrew Humphrey Hertfordshire University

Research guests

Name Username
@ing.iac.es
(+34 922 425 ext.)
Home institution ING contact Research interests Period
Guillermo Luis BoschFacultad de Ciencias Astronómicas y Geofísicas, Universidad Nacional de La Plata, ArgentinaCecilia FariñaMassive stars and massive star formation. Starburst regions. Young stellar populations. Oct 2016
Radu Corneaguest22Romanian Society for Meteors and Astronomy, RomaniaOvidiu VaduvescuSolar System astronomy with emphasis on minor bodies ‐ asteroids and comets.2016
Matteo FrigomfrigoInstituto de Astrofísica de Canarias, SpainMarc Balcells2015
Klaus FuhrmannklausJavier MéndezAbundance analyses of FGK-type stars; exoplanet host stars; stellar populations; thick- and thin-disc; formation and evolution of the Milky Way2016
Marcel Popescumpopescu (441)Astronomical Institute of the Romanian Academy (Romania)Ovidiu VaduvescuSolar System astronomy with emphasis on minor bodie ‐ asteroids and comets.Summer 2014
Hristo StoevhristoCentro de Astrobiología, SpainOvidiu VaduvescuStellar variability in the near-infrared. Classification of variable stars. Nov 2015
Patrick Sandquist psandquist University of St. Andrews, UK James McCormac and Raine Karjalainen Twilight flat assistant script for all ING imagers, transiting extrasolar Summer 2013
Vlad Tudor vlad Leicester University, UK Ovidiu Vaduvescu ING instrument database and server, dwarf fundamental plane extension to other galaxies Summer 2013

Claire Burke

  Astrophysics Research Institute, Liverpool John Moores University, UK Doug Arnold Evolution in galaxy cluster cores since half way back to the big bang. May 2013
Reynier Peletier peletier Kapteyn Astronomical Institute Marc Balcells Galaxy evolution. Stellar populations of early- and late-type galaxies. Bulges of disk galaxies. Dwarf galaxies. Stellar population modelling. Dec 2012-Feb 2013
Ilona Busenbender ibusenbender IAC Chris Benn Outskirts of Galaxies Oct 2011-Dec 2012
Gabriel Marinello gm Univ. Central Lancashire, UK Chris Benn Large-scale structure Aug-Sep 2012
Linda Schmidtobreick ESO, Chile Pablo Rodríguez Jun-Jul 2008
Carlo Ferri IEEC, Barcelona Pablo Rodríguez Jul-Aug 2008
Laura Colombón Ochoa Javier Licandro 2004


Top | Back

Contact:  (Astronomy Organisation)
Last modified: 04 April 2017